Is first offense DUI a felony in South Carolina?
In the state of South Carolina, a first offense DUI (Driving Under the Influence) is normally classified as a misdemeanor, instead of a felony. However, there are various situations in which a DUI on your first conviction might turn into a felony DUI in South Carolina.
For example, the driver may be charged with a felony if the DUI incident led to the harm or fatality of another person. In addition, the responsible motorist can be charged with a crime if they were driving with a passenger who was under the age of 16 at the time of the DUI occurrence.
It’s important to remember that South Carolina has stringent regulations against DUIs, whether it’s a first offense or not. A 1st offense DUI in SC may result in a variety of punishments, such as fines, license suspension, required alcohol education classes, and, in certain cases, even jail time. Repeat offenders are subject to harsher punishments, such as lengthier jail terms and larger fines
Table of Contents
What is the punishment for DUI in SC?
Many circumstances affect the punishment for DUI in South Carolina. Some of the instances include the degree of intoxication, also known as the blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of the driver at the time of the arrest. Furthermore, any past DUI convictions, and whether anybody was hurt or killed by the DUI might also affect the punishment sentence.
A list of some of the possible sanctions for a DUI conviction in South Carolina is as follows:
For a first offense DUI in SC, the following punishments may be imposed:
- A maximum $1,000 fine
- 30 days or more in prison (though in many cases, the jail sentence can be suspended)
- A minimum of six months of license suspension
- Completion of an ADSAP (Alcohol and Drug Safety Action Program), which has a component for education and evaluation
- Six months of ignition interlock device (IID) installation in the driver’s car (if the BAC was .15 or above)
It is important to remember that even a first-offense DUI can result in serious repercussions beyond these fines. For instance, a DUI conviction may result in higher auto insurance costs, trouble landing a job (particularly in professions requiring driving), and even strain on personal ties.
For a second DUI Infraction in South Carolina, the following punishments will apply to the convict:
- The maximum penalty is charged for $6,500.
- A maximum of one year in prison (though in many cases, the jail sentence can be suspended)
- A one-year suspension of the culprit’s driving license.
- Finishing an ADSAP program
- Two-year installation of an IID in the driver’s car
- Serving the community through various activities as dictated by the court (ranging from 5 to 60 days, depending on the BAC at the time of arrest)
- The vehicle of the driver can be forfeited
In the event of a DUI Third Offense in South Carolina, the following punishments can be potentially given to the culprit:
- A fine to the tune of $10,000 can be charged.
- A maximum of three years in prison (though in many cases, the jail sentence can be suspended)
- A two- to four-year suspension of your license
- Finishing an ADSAP program
As was already mentioned, in South Carolina, a DUI can become a felony conviction under certain conditions. If you are found guilty of a felony DUI in South Carolina, you could face even harsher punishments, like lengthier jail terms and larger fines.
A DUI conviction in South Carolina has additional penalties in addition to these. For instance, a driver’s license may be automatically terminated for six months if they refuse to submit to a breathalyzer test during a DUI stop (even if they are not ultimately convicted of DUI). A DUI conviction can also result in increased auto insurance costs and leave a stain on the driver’s criminal record that may harm their chances of finding employment in the future.
In practice, never drinking and driving is the best approach to avoid a DUI conviction in South Carolina. In the event that you are charged with DUI, it is crucial to engage with a knowledgeable DUI defense lawyer who can guide you through the legal process and perhaps lessen the severity of the punishments you are subject to.
Is your license suspended immediately after a DUI in SC?
Following a DUI (Driving Under the Influence) arrest, a driver’s license in South Carolina may be suspended immediately. The specifics of when and how the license suspension takes place, however, might change based on a variety of variables.
The Law of Implied Consent
First off, it is important to remember that South Carolina has an “implied consent” law. This law states that by operating a car on a public road in the state, drivers have given their implied consent to submit to a chemical test (typically a breathalyzer). This test is usually administered if they are suspected of operating a vehicle while under the influence of alcohol. A license suspension may be enforced automatically if you refuse to take the test.
Suspension without Delay
A driver’s license in South Carolina may be suspended right away if the accused who is detained for a DUI, refuses to submit to a breathalyzer test. Similar is the case if they have a blood alcohol concentration of .15 or higher. When the person is arrested, this is referred to as an “administrative suspension” and it starts to apply.
The administrative suspension’s duration can change depending on the specifics of the arrest. Usually, the suspension lasts for six months if it is a first-time refusal or a high BAC. The penalty may be up to two years for a further refusal or high BAC within ten years.
Temporary Liquor License
A temporary alcohol license may occasionally be available to drivers following a DUI arrest. So long as their regular license is suspended, they are still able to drive for specific purposes (like getting to work or school).
The following requirements must be met by drivers in order to be granted a temporary alcohol license:
- Possessing a valid South Carolina driver’s license at the time of the arrest. Being free of any other active license suspensions or revocations is necessary.
- During the DUI event, not causing an accident that resulted in death or serious bodily harm.
- Proof of SR-22 insurance (which is a type of high-risk insurance often required after a DUI conviction)
At the Department of Motor Vehicles, drivers can submit an application for a temporary alcohol license if they qualify (DMV). The fact that they can still have limitations on when and where they can drive even with a temporary alcohol license should be noted.
Bringing Suspension Into Challenge
A person does have the option to appeal the suspension of their driver’s license if it was imposed after a DUI arrest. In order to do this, you normally have to ask for an administrative hearing with the DMV within 30 days of the arrest.
The motorist has the opportunity to provide information and arguments at the hearing in favor of maintaining their license. They might claim, for instance, that there wasn’t sufficient justification for the DUI stop or that the breathalyzer test was done improperly. The suspension of the driver’s license might be lifted if the DMV rules in their favor.
It’s important to remember that appealing a license suspension may be a difficult procedure, and it’s frequently advised that drivers seek the assistance of a knowledgeable DUI defense lawyer to get through it.
Can DUI be reduced in South Carolina?
DUI accusations may be dropped in South Carolina depending on the situation. However, several criteria can affect whether a reduction is achievable as well as the type of reduction that might be offered.
In South Carolina, negotiating a plea deal is one of the most popular strategies to have DUI charges reduced. This is haggling with the prosecution to get to a plea deal that results in a lesser charge or fewer punishments.
For instance, a prosecutor might agree to drop a 1st DUI offense in SC prosecution in favor of “reckless driving” or “wet reckless,” which entails less severe punishments. If the driver’s BAC (blood alcohol content) was close to the legal limit, if there were mitigating circumstances (such as a medical condition that influenced the breathalyzer test), or if the driver has never been convicted of DUI before, this type of decrease might be possible.
It’s crucial to remember that the process of plea bargaining can be complicated, and it’s frequently advised that drivers consult with a knowledgeable DUI defense lawyer to navigate it and negotiate the best conclusion.
Intervention before trial
Participation in a pretrial intervention (PTI) program is another option for lowering DUI charges in South Carolina. PTI is a diversion program created to offer first-time offenders a different option from formal prosecution.
In order to participate in the PTI program, a driver may have to fulfill several obligations, such as attending alcohol education programs, giving back to the community, and abstaining from problems for a predetermined amount of time. If they complete the program successfully, their charges can be dropped, and they might be able to avoid having a DUI conviction appear on their record.
PTI is not available to all drivers, and eligibility might vary depending on many variables. These include the seriousness of the offense, the driver’s criminal history, and the prosecutor’s discretion. Even if a driver is accepted into the PTI program, they could still be subject to fines or have their license suspended.
The Evidence is Disputed
Dispute the evidence used against the motorist as a further means of reducing DUI charges. For instance, if the breathalyzer test was performed improperly or the traffic stop was made by a police officer without a valid reason. Alternatively, if there were additional problems with the arrest, a defense lawyer could be able to convince the court to drop all or part of the charges.
It’s often advised that drivers consult with a skilled DUI defense lawyer who can look into the specifics of the arrest and craft a compelling defense plan before challenging the evidence.
Alternatives to Sentence
Last but not least, there are times when alternative sentencing schemes can help decrease DUI charges. By agreeing to take part in a drug or alcohol treatment program or to have an ignition interlock device installed on their car, for instance, a driver may be able to avoid receiving a DUI conviction.
For drivers who are facing mandatory minimum sentences, such as those who were driving with a blood alcohol concentration of over.15 or those who were responsible for an accident that resulted in injury or death, alternative sentencing choices can be very advantageous.
What is the best defense for a DUI?
The particulars of the case will determine the best course of action in a DUI defense. Nonetheless, some typical defenses include disputing the validity of the stop, the results of the breathalyzer or field sobriety test, and claiming that the driver’s behavior was not affected by alcohol or drugs.
When the stop is contested, the police’s initial justification for pulling over the driver is called into doubt. All evidence gathered after the stop, including proof of intoxication, may be thrown out if it was not lawfully warranted.
The accuracy of the tests or the officer’s credentials who administered them must be questioned when contesting the findings of a breathalyzer or field sobriety test. The evidence may be contested or rejected if the tests were not given appropriately or if they weren’t trustworthy.
Finally, demonstrating that the motorist was not truly under the influence of alcohol or drugs or that their behavior was compatible with being sober requires presenting facts to support your claim. Though more difficult to establish, this defense may work in some circumstances.
We at Longshore Law Firm are here to help you get your DUI charges dropped. Our experienced lawyers know the ins and outs of DUI charges, and the best ways to handle tricky situations. If you are facing similar charges, contact our experts and receive expert advice.
Want to know how much does a good DUI lawyer cost?
Contact the best DUI lawyer in Charleston SC for a free consultation.